Leaving Tomorrow – jb

In 14 hours I’ll be leaving Winnipeg. It seems that this moment has crept up on me. Seriously, where has time disappeared to? I feel nervous, anxious and excited to for this adventure.

For those of you who don’t know, we are heading to Bunda, Tanzania to work along side the Canadian Physicians for Aid and Relief (CPAR) to promote leadership, gender equality and health in two secondary schools.

I have had experience traveling in the past, but this is the first time that I am participating in a service-learning program. I feel blessed to be able to be a part of such a unique experience. I am hoping that this opportunity provides me with valuable information on international development work, the challenges that it faces, and experience and education in an intercultural context.

Currently, I am a social work student at the University of Manitoba, and am interested in community and international development. Social work, to me, represents human rights, advocacy, social justice and empowerment. This is what I think a lot of community and international development work does.  I am hoping to bring and learn about these components while keeping a cultural humble, empathic, and compassionate environment. It is my hope to use a critical framework in understanding development, the ways and reasons people experience oppression. These are all things I hope to learn through this opportunity with CPAR.

 

talk soon.

 

Jesslyn

 

Leave a Reply

